View Full Version : TF on ebay
TechnoGoat
25-08-2006, 10:54 PM
So, why is this (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130020604009
) so cheap
£3300 for a 04 TF with hardtop etc.
Is it worth having a look?
(for those that are intrested I finally fixed my spoiler today too :D)
Ralph
26-08-2006, 12:07 PM
Glad to hear that you got your spoiler fixed! Hmm, that TF looks very interesting - are you thinking about bidding on it?
That TF looks too good to be true. Not far from here though.
pete247
26-08-2006, 02:05 PM
I'd be wary, but it looks imaculate and could be deffinately worth a punt.
MYCaptainChris
26-08-2006, 05:15 PM
it is only a 115, still that is cheap.
TechnoGoat
26-08-2006, 06:38 PM
115 is good for me as its cheap on the insurance (ie cheaper than the ZR), and you get the natty 160 looks & hard top..
One thing that conserns me though is any searches on the numberplate just give me 'Vehicle details could not be found' errors (such as from the DVLA site). There's a similar TF in Maidstone for sale with a lot more milage for three times the BIN price too.
Chris T
26-08-2006, 11:16 PM
Don’t even think about bidding on this, it’s a phishing scam; dormant eBay accounts are hacked so that information about the bidders can be gained, note the “This listing is restricted to pre-approved bidders or buyers only” at the top. I also doubt you will see any of your money returned.
Other cars that are on eBay at the moment for £3300 include late model 75’s, Audi TT’s and Volvo’s.
Thanks for the warning Chris and welcome to BCF.
King Minger
27-08-2006, 12:06 PM
can you elaborate on this a little chris?
is the £33.00 significant? and what does the approved bidder bit mean in the scam?
Liz was looking at this item and was thinking the same 'what's wrong with this' thought....
cheers
Al
edit: oh yeah, welcome! :)
Chris T
27-08-2006, 12:26 PM
The £33 is a new one its usually £3300 (in fact the buy it now on this listing is £3300), and all the scam listings say not to email the seller using the eBay email system but to use a Yahoo email address. What they are after is your email address and if they can get it out of you your bank details so that you can become a “pre-approved bidder or buyer”.
King Minger
27-08-2006, 01:10 PM
all becomes clear... cheers for the heads up!
TechnoGoat
27-08-2006, 01:22 PM
Thanks for the warning!
Obviously when you're talking this sort of money I'd at least expect to be able to see & check the car over, and do a few checks on it before putting up money.
King Minger
28-08-2006, 12:24 AM
yeah, like today, went and had a look at an ebay car, but only as would any other second hand car.
TechnoGoat
28-08-2006, 02:25 PM
For those that are intrested, I e-mailed him (from a disposable e-mail account) a few days ago, and have now got a reply (obviously I didn't tell them any of my details)..
Hello,
Thank you for contacting me about the 2004 MGTF 115 SUNSTORM BLACK MG TF.
About the car:The car is in perfect conditions ,no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage,no engine problems.The interior is in like new condition and has never been smoked in. The car is still UK registered so you will not have to pay any custom taxes. The problem is that I had to move with my family in Copenhagen,Denmark where I got a new job transfer.I brought the car here with me with the intention of driving it but when I found out about the very high import duties and all the restrictions regarding registration and emissions tests here I've changed my mind and I've decided to sell the vehicle.I want to sell it in UK because is still registered there.
The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle is £3,300 with shipping costs included!About the payment, we will go through a secure way, and we will make the deal through eBay.If you agree with the terms so far and you are interested to buy the car from me, please let me know,and I will make the arrangements and the eBay will contact you regarding the deal.Please reply with:
-YOUR FULL NAME
-YOUR FULL ADDRESS
-USER ID
in your next e-mail..
Now, call me pedantic, but generally if you're living in Denmark, you don't use a Romanian ISP (looking at his IP).
The ebay listing says that the item location is doncaster, yet they say it's in Copenhagen? Not much chance of viewing before buying then.
They also say the price is £3300, yet they listed it as an auction so the price would have been the final bid price - £33.
Would have been a lovely bargain though if it was for real.
Beaker
28-08-2006, 08:22 PM
Sounds dodgy, glad I stayed away. The MGF I got seems good for a 10yr old car. Can't wait to pick it up.
Now a MINI Cooper-S on eBay for £5!
Pre-approved bidders only, again... possibley another scam?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2004-MINI-COOPER-S-SILVER_W0QQitemZ110028767519QQihZ001QQcategoryZ387 08QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
King Minger
06-09-2006, 11:12 AM
undoubtedly...
there's loads of them. if you look at the ebay motors message boards, there's tons of chatter about them, and ebay could care less
MYCaptainChris
06-09-2006, 03:56 PM
For those that are intrested, I e-mailed him (from a disposable e-mail account) a few days ago, and have now got a reply (obviously I didn't tell them any of my details)..
Now, call me pedantic, but generally if you're living in Denmark, you don't use a Romanian ISP (looking at his IP).
Send him
Tony Blair
10 Downing Street
etc etc
User ID: MrPMinister
:lol3:
vBulletin® v3.8.0, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.